Erasmus Mundus

The Erasmus Mundus programme is a cooperation and mobility programme in the field of higher education which promotes the European Union as a centre of excellence in learning around the world.

The programme aims to enhance the quality and attractiveness of higher education and to promote cross-cultural understanding through cooperation with partner countries (which are not EU members). It supports European top-quality Master Courses and Joint Doctorates and the attractiveness of European higher education in third countries.

The European Union provides EU-funded scholarships for third country nationals participating in these Master Courses and Joint Doctorates, as well as scholarships for EU-nationals studying at Partner universities throughout the world.

All Erasmus Mundus Master and Doctoral programmes lead towards double or multiple degrees, since it is obligatory to study at least at two universities in the consortium. Erasmus Mundus programme has a budget of 930 million euros, of which 90% is intended for scholarships, and the rest is granted as direct support to participating universities for organizational preparations.

Erasmus Mundus programme comprises three actions:

Action 1: Erasmus Mundus Master Courses (Action 1A) and Erasmus Mundus Joint Doctorates (Action 1B) constitute the central component around which Erasmus Mundus is built.

Action 2: Erasmus Mundus Partnerships (former External Cooperation Windows).

Action 3: Enhancing attractiveness

Erasmus Mundus II phase, lasting from 2009 to 2013, continues and extends the scope of activities already launched during the first phase (2004-2008).

Detailed information of the programme can be found in the official presentation of TEMPUS Office Serbia.